Elders & Deacons


Scripturally speaking, the men in this “office” (1 Timothy 3:1) may also be referred to as “elders” or “presbyters” (Titus 1:5), “pastors” or “shepherds” (cf. 1 Peter 5:1-3), and “bishops” or “overseers” (Philippians 1:1; 1 Timothy 3:1). Each of these titles emphasizes various qualities or responsibilities of the eldership. Here they are listed in alphabetical order:

  • Charles Dollahite
  • Louis Higgins
  • Tom McKleroy
  • Vance Moore

Our elders welcome questions and concerns. You may often reach one of the elders by calling the elders’ office at (256) 831-7116; if no one is available, please leave a message and the elders will return your call. You may also correspond electronically with them by emailing elders@oxfordchurchofchrist.com.


These men meet the qualifications of 1 Timothy 3:8-13, which enable one to be selected to the “office of a deacon” (1 Timothy 3:13). Our deacons eagerly and faithfully carry out the responsibilities given them. Our deacons are as follows (alphabetically):

  • Murray Beasley – Benevolence
  • Rodger Burleson – Building Maintenance
  • Adam Dale – Technology
  • Bruce Dickerson – Worship
  • Glenn Fulmer – Senior Ministry
  • Steve Hicks – Missions
  • Clyde Huckeba – Security/Special Programs
  • Ronnie Nordan – Education
  • Drew Pettus – Service To Congregation

For any further information regarding the work of the deacons or for information on any other information which may assist you in learning more about the Oxford church of Christ, call us at (256) 820-4801 or emailing us at deacons@oxfordchurchofchrist.com.